Greenrich at a glance
Greenrich's website describes it as a South African energy storage solution company, with offices in Johannesburg and Cape Town. Its datasheets, such as the UP5000 flyer, carry the contact details of Elley Hill in Midrand and Diep River, which suggests Greenrich is a brand of that distributor. Greenrich does not say where its cells or batteries are made.
Greenrich sells through resellers and installers who sign up on its installer and reseller page. Its battery and inverter systems page also lists a high-voltage commercial battery, which is outside the scope of this review.
The current range in numbers
These figures come from Greenrich's product pages for the WM5000, UP5000, UP6100, UP3686 and SSRE 51.2V Series, checked 26 October 2026. All are 51.2V lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) batteries.
| WM5000 | UP5000 | UP6100 | SSRE |
|---|
| Also sold as | AW7500 | AU7500 | AU9000 | — |
| Nominal energy | 4.95kWh | 4.95kWh | 6.12kWh | 10.24kWh |
| Usable energy | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 9.22kWh (90% DoD) |
| Recommended discharge | 43A | 43A | 60A | 100A |
| Maximum continuous discharge | 150A | 150A | 200A | 150A |
| Cycle life claim | More than 6,000 | More than 6,000 | More than 6,000 | 6,000 |
| Mounting | Wall | Rack | Rack | Stackable |
| Weight | About 48kg | About 51kg | About 57kg | About 94kg |
The second model names, such as AW7500 for the WM5000, come from Greenrich's own product titles, so a quote may use either.
The headline strength is current. A 150A continuous rating on a 4.95kWh battery is about 7.5kW, more than most 5kWh batteries publish. That is useful for a 5kW inverter starting a pump or a fridge compressor. But Greenrich's recommended 43A is about 2.2kW, and that is the figure to plan around for long life. If your evening loads often sit above 2kW, one WM5000 or UP5000 is working harder than Greenrich recommends. Our guide to what a 5kWh battery can run shows how quickly common appliances use that energy.
What the datasheets leave out
Greenrich's pages for the WM5000, UP5000 and UP6100 do not state depth of discharge, usable energy, IP rating, cycle-test conditions or a maximum number of batteries in parallel. Depth of discharge (DoD) is the share of the battery's capacity the system uses, and it decides how much of the 4.95kWh you actually get. A cycle-life figure without its test temperature, rate and end-of-life capacity is hard to compare with brands that publish all three. Ask the seller for these figures in writing.
The SSRE is the best-documented model. Its page and flyer give 9.22kWh usable at 90% DoD, 100A recommended discharge and one to eight units in parallel. The UP3686 page gives a limit of fewer than 16 batteries in parallel.
The Greenrich 16kWh AF16000
Retailers sell a 16kWh floor-standing Greenrich AF16000, but it was not listed on Greenrich's website on 26 October 2026. Inverter Warehouse's AF16000 listing gives 314Ah, 200A maximum charge and discharge, IP20, 124kg, up to 15 in parallel and a 10-year warranty, with 12.8kWh usable at 80% DoD. Some other listings give a different DoD. Because these figures come from a retailer rather than Greenrich, ask for the manufacturer's datasheet before you rely on them.
The Greenrich warranty: ask for the terms
Greenrich's product pages give 10 years and more than 6,000 cycles for the WM5000, UP5000, UP6100 and UP3686, and the SSRE flyer shows 10 years and 6,000 cycles. Its warranty page says the warranty covers manufacturing defects and malfunctions, and asks you to register to activate it.
That is all Greenrich publishes. We could not find written terms on any of these points:
- whether the 10 years ends early at 6,000 cycles or at a throughput figure;
- how much capacity the battery must keep to stay within warranty;
- whether the battery must communicate with the inverter;
- a deadline for registration; or
- exclusions, labour and transport costs, and how claims are handled.
Retailers do not agree either. One listing describes the UP5000 as having a five-year product warranty and a 10-year performance warranty, while Greenrich's own datasheet says 10 years. Compare that with brands such as Dyness or Revov, which publish throughput limits, retention figures and claim conditions. Our Revov battery review shows what a detailed warranty document looks like.
None of this means the Greenrich warranty is weak. It means you cannot judge it from public information, so get the written terms from the seller and keep them with your invoice. Our solar warranties guide explains what a battery warranty should cover.
Inverter compatibility
Greenrich's product pages name Deye, Sunsynk, Growatt, Luxpower, GoodWe, Voltronic, Kodak, Axpert and Victron as compatible inverter brands. Its BMS settings page has setup guides for Deye, Luxpower, Sunsynk and Growatt (the SPF5000ES and its variants).
That is a brand list, not a model-by-model compatibility list. If your inverter is not one of the four with a published setup guide, ask Greenrich or the seller to confirm the exact inverter model and communication settings in writing. Our Luxpower inverter review and Growatt inverter review cover two of the inverters Greenrich supports with guides.
Who Greenrich batteries suit
Good fit
- Budget-led 5kWh systems. The WM5000 and UP5000 were among the lower listed prices for a 5kWh lithium battery on the day we checked.
- Homes with a Deye, Sunsynk, Luxpower or Growatt inverter. Greenrich publishes setup guides for these.
- Loads with short, high peaks. The 150A continuous rating gives headroom for motor starts.
- Buyers who want a local supplier. Greenrich has offices in Johannesburg and Cape Town.
Think twice if
- You compare batteries on warranty fine print. Greenrich does not publish written terms on throughput, retention or exclusions.
- You need usable-capacity figures. Only the SSRE states its usable energy.
- You want the AF16000. Its figures come from retailers, not Greenrich.
- You need an outdoor-rated battery. No IP rating is published for most models, so plan for an indoor position.
How Greenrich compares on the criteria that matter
Our home battery buyer's guide ranks batteries on criteria, not brand names. Here is how Greenrich measures up:
| Criterion | What Greenrich publishes | What to compare |
|---|
| Usable capacity | Only for the SSRE (90% DoD) | Usable kWh on the same DoD basis |
| Continuous power | WM5000 and UP5000: 43A recommended, 150A maximum | Your inverter's continuous load and motor surges |
| Warranty term | 10 years and more than 6,000 cycles, no written terms | Calendar term, throughput, end-of-warranty capacity |
| Cycle test conditions | Not stated | Temperature, rate and end-of-life capacity |
| Compatibility | Brand list; setup guides for four brands | Written confirmation for your exact inverter |
| Support | Offices in Johannesburg and Cape Town | Who handles a claim, and who pays labour and transport |
Want a battery sized for your home?
Tell us what you need to keep running and for how long. The assessment sizes the battery and inverter together and gives you a written quote.
Get a battery quote →Free and no obligation. SolarGuide may earn a referral fee from Alumo; it never adds to your cost.
What Greenrich batteries cost
Greenrich does not publish prices. On 26 October 2026, Inverter Warehouse listed the WM5000 at R13,400, the UP5000 at R12,500 and the AF16000 at R29,000, all including VAT. ComX listed the UP5000 at R22,110 including VAT, out of stock, which shows how far listed prices can differ.
These are listed equipment prices for the battery alone, not quotes. They exclude the inverter, protection, cabling, installation and the Certificate of Compliance (CoC), and they change often. A lower price is only good value if the warranty terms behind it are clear.
Before you buy a Greenrich battery
Ask the installer or seller for:
- the exact model (WM5000, UP5000, UP6100, SSRE or AF16000) and how many units;
- the written Greenrich warranty terms, including any cycle or throughput limit and end-of-warranty capacity;
- the depth of discharge and usable energy the system will be set to;
- the manufacturer's datasheet, especially for the AF16000;
- written confirmation that your inverter model is compatible, with the BMS settings;
- how many units can run in parallel if you plan to add more;
- registration of the battery on Greenrich's warranty page at commissioning; and
- a paid invoice showing the battery serial numbers.
Our guide to comparing solar quotes shows how to check the battery line against the rest of an itemised quote.
Getting a quote through SolarGuide
SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems we refer. Alumo's advertised home packages are built around a Solis inverter and an Eenovance battery, so a quote through us will compare a battery from Alumo's range against your needs. If you already own a Greenrich battery and want to add solar or replace an inverter, share the model and serial details when you ask for a quote so compatibility can be checked first.
Request an itemised quote for a compatible home system →
Frequently asked questions
Is Greenrich a good battery brand?
Greenrich batteries are rated for high continuous current and sell at lower listed prices than many 5kWh batteries. The weak point is documentation: Greenrich does not publish usable capacity for most models or written warranty terms beyond 10 years and 6,000 cycles. Get those in writing before you choose one.
Where are Greenrich batteries made?
Greenrich does not say. It describes itself as a South African energy storage company, and its datasheets carry the contact details of Elley Hill in Midrand and Cape Town. Ask the seller if the country of manufacture matters to you.
What is the difference between the Greenrich WM5000 and UP5000?
Both store 4.95kWh, with 43A recommended and 150A maximum discharge. The WM5000 is a wall-mounted battery, and the UP5000 is a rack-mounted one. On 26 October 2026, Inverter Warehouse listed the WM5000 at R13,400 and the UP5000 at R12,500, including VAT.
Does Greenrich work with Sunsynk inverters?
Greenrich names Sunsynk as a compatible brand and publishes a BMS setup guide for Sunsynk inverters. Confirm your exact inverter model and settings with the seller, and keep that confirmation with your invoice.
Is SolarGuide the installer?
No. SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems. We help you compare options and get a free quote. We have no commercial relationship with Greenrich. All pricing is indicative and subject to a site assessment and credit approval.
Sources and review note
Checked on 26 October 2026. Company details come from the Greenrich website, its installer and reseller page and the UP5000 datasheet. Specifications are from Greenrich's product pages for the WM5000, UP5000, UP6100, UP3686 and SSRE, and the SSRE datasheet. Warranty information is from the Greenrich warranty page, and compatibility from the product pages and the BMS settings page. AF16000 figures and prices come from Inverter Warehouse and ComX listings on the date checked; they are listed prices, not quotes. Alumo's equipment comes from alumo.co.za. The kW conversions are SolarGuide calculations from the published currents, not product tests. Greenrich can contact us to correct any factual error.
SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. We help you compare options and arrange a free quote — Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems. Pricing is indicative, sourced from Alumo’s published catalogue, and subject to a site assessment and credit approval.