Freedom Won at a glance
Freedom Won registered as a company in South Africa in 2012, according to its about page. Its factory and head office are at Longmeadow Business Estate in Modderfontein, Gauteng. The company says it moved there in 2024, grew to 48,000m² and has a manufacturing capacity of more than 3,000MWh a year. It also describes itself as the largest energy storage manufacturer in Africa. That is the company's own claim, and we have not independently checked it.
Local manufacturing has a practical upside. The spec sheets name South Africa as the country of manufacture, and the guarantees are issued by a South African company with a Gauteng address. If you need to make a claim, you are dealing with a local business, not an overseas head office.
Freedom Won sells through accredited distributors and installers rather than directly to homeowners. Its range also runs well beyond homes, including large commercial cabinets (SOLVA) and containerised storage (COREVA). This review sticks to the home batteries.
The current home range in numbers
These figures come from Freedom Won's spec sheets for the ENVA 5 (updated 26 May 2026), the ENVA 16 (updated 5 June 2026) and the eTower 2 (updated 4 September 2026).
| ENVA 5 | ENVA 16 | eTower 2 (one module) | eTower 2 (six modules) |
|---|
| Total capacity | 5.12kWh | 16kWh | 5.12kWh | 30.72kWh |
| Usable at 80% depth of discharge | 4.1kWh | 12.8kWh | Not stated | Not stated |
| Usable at 90% depth of discharge | 4.6kWh | 14.5kWh | 4.5kWh | 27kWh |
| Discharge current, max/continuous | 100A / 50A | 200A / 157A | 100A / 90A | 540A / 480A |
| Discharge power | 5kW max | 10kW max | 5.2kW max, 4.7kW continuous | 28kW max, 25.2kW continuous |
| Largest inverter recommended | Not stated | 10kVA | 5kVA | 30kVA |
| Weight | 53kg | 126kg | 52kg | 312kg |
| Mounting | Wall | Floor, with wall bracket | Stacked, rack or wall | Stacked tower |
| Standard warranty | 5 years or 6,000 cycles | 5 years or 6,000 cycles | 5 years or 4,000 cycles | 5 years or 4,000 cycles |
Depth of discharge is how much of the battery's total capacity you let it use. Freedom Won's sheets give usable energy at both 80% and 90%. For everyday runtime sums, use the lower figure unless your installer sets the battery deeper.
ENVA 5
The ENVA 5 is a wall-mounted 5.12kWh battery with Bluetooth and Wi-Fi monitoring through Freedom Won's app, plus a built-in aerosol fire-suppression canister. You can run up to 15 in parallel, but more than that needs a custom combiner box.
The number to watch is continuous discharge current: 50A. At the 51.2V nominal voltage, that works out to roughly 2.6kW of steady output (our arithmetic, not a Freedom Won figure). The battery can deliver up to 100A for short periods, but the spec sheet limits that to five minutes in every 30. If your backed-up loads regularly pull more than about 2.5kW for long stretches, ask the installer whether one ENVA 5 is enough for your inverter or whether you need two.
ENVA 16
The ENVA 16 is a floor-standing 16kWh unit on wheeled, height-adjustable feet, with a bracket to secure it to the wall. Freedom Won recommends it for inverters up to 10kVA, and it gives 12.8kWh usable at 80% depth of discharge. For a household that wants long evening runtime or covers outages on a larger inverter, one unit replaces several small ones, so there are fewer connections and less wall space to find.
eTower 2
The eTower 2 is a modular system. You stack 5.12kWh modules into a tower of one to six, so a home can start small and add modules later. Freedom Won says the eTower 2 is backwards compatible with the earlier eTower, which is useful if you already own one and want to expand. Each module has a cooling fan, and the enclosure is rated for indoor use only, away from direct sun and other heat sources.
Its continuous discharge power per module (4.7kW) is higher than the ENVA 5's. The trade-off is a shorter warranty cycle count: 4,000 rather than 6,000.
What happened to the Freedom Won LiTE Home?
On 20 October 2026, Freedom Won's downloads page listed the LiTE Home (52V and HV), the LiTE Business and the original eTower under "End-of-Life (EOL)". The ENVA and eTower 2 ranges appear as current products. Several old LiTE product pages now return a "not found" error.
If you already own a LiTE Home, your cover has not gone away. The LiTE battery guarantee (released 15 August 2025) still lists the LiTE Home 10/8, 15/12, 20/16 and 30/24. Its standard performance warranty promises at least 10 years or 6,000 cycles at 80% depth of discharge, whichever comes first. Several conditions apply:
- the battery must not regularly sit in ambient temperatures above 25°C, and the guarantee limits how long the inside of the battery may spend above that;
- it must not run continuously above 0.5C, meaning half its amp-hour rating, for more than 10 minutes an hour;
- it must be installed indoors, away from sun, rain and sea spray.
A battery that breaks the temperature limits may move to an alternate warranty of 10 years or 4,000 cycles, provided it meets that warranty's looser conditions. Freedom Won strongly advises registering every battery on its online portal, which also enables remote diagnostics.
For reference, the LiTE Home 10/8 spec sheet lists 10kWh total, 8kWh usable at 80% and 9kWh at 90%, with 10kW continuous discharge.
If a seller offers you a new LiTE Home in 2026, it is probably remaining stock. Ask for the manufacture date and which guarantee applies. Freedom Won's LiTE terms only guarantee full nameplate capacity if the battery is commissioned within 12 months of manufacture and was stored correctly.
The Freedom Won warranty: read past the headline
The warranty is where the old and new ranges differ most, and where you will most want the details in writing.
| LiTE (end-of-life) | ENVA 5 and ENVA 16 | eTower 2 |
|---|
| Standard term | 10 years or 6,000 cycles | 5 years or 6,000 cycles | 5 years or 4,000 cycles |
| Capacity the battery must keep | 60% of new capacity at the end | 70% of new capacity during the term | See the eTower guarantee |
| Site travel for a claim | Covered when a technician must travel | Excluded: you deliver the battery at your own cost | Check with the seller |
| Indoor only | Yes | Yes | Yes |
The ENVA guarantee (August 2026) has some good points for owners. The capacity threshold is 70%, higher than the LiTE's 60%, so the battery has to hold more of its capacity to stay within warranty. Freedom Won also commits to support ENVA batteries for up to 10 years from purchase, as long as parts are available.
It also has conditions that every buyer should understand:
- Temperature. The battery may not be operated where ambient temperatures regularly exceed 30°C for long periods. The warranty is void if the internal temperature ever goes above 45°C, or averages more than six hours a day above 30°C.
- Removal and shipping. You pay to remove, package, ship and reinstall the battery. Travel and on-site labour are excluded.
- Portal registration. Capacity is assessed from the online portal. If the battery isn't linked when you claim, it must be registered first or delivered to Freedom Won.
- Payment through the supply chain. The warranty is void if anyone in the supply chain, including the installer, has not been paid in full within 60 days of the final amount falling due. Get a paid-in-full invoice that shows the serial number.
- Proof of purchase. A claim needs the seller's and buyer's details, the installation address, the purchase date and the battery serial number.
Which limit ends the warranty first?
For most homes, the calendar does. Freedom Won counts one cycle as a full discharge from 100% to 0% and a recharge, with shallower cycles added up pro rata. A battery doing one full cycle every day for five years completes about 1,826 cycles. That is well short of 6,000 (ENVA) or 4,000 (eTower 2). So in practice, a daily-cycling home gets five years of cover, not the cycle figure. This is our arithmetic from the published terms. A battery that is mostly kept full for backup will clock even fewer cycles.
Our guides to battery lifespan and cycles and what to look for in a solar warranty explain how to compare cycle, throughput and calendar limits across brands.
Inverter compatibility
All three current home batteries are 51.2V nominal, built for 48V inverters. They talk to the inverter over CAN bus, and they have an RS485 port for Voltronic Axpert inverters with the right firmware.
Freedom Won's inverter compatibility guide lists the inverters it has certified for its low-voltage batteries. They include Sunsynk and Deye low-voltage hybrids, Victron Quattro and MultiPlus, GoodWe ES, Growatt/Sunforce, SMA Sunny Island, Studer, MegaRevo, Imeon, Kodak and Chisage models, each with its own cable and set-up notes. The guide says brands not on the list are not certified for the CAN bus link, and asks owners of other inverters to contact Freedom Won.
There's a catch. That guide covers the eTower, LiTE and megaTower ranges and was written before the ENVA. The ENVA spec sheets say the batteries are "fully compatible with all common CAN bus compatible brands", but that is a manufacturer claim, not a certified list. If you are pairing an ENVA with a specific inverter, ask the installer to confirm the exact battery and inverter models with Freedom Won in writing.
An inverter without CAN bus or RS485 can still run with these batteries, but Freedom Won warns that you lose functions. The inverter cannot see the true state of charge, and the battery cannot tell it to stop charging or discharging. For a new system, choose an inverter that communicates.
Freedom Won also makes its own Encore inverters. You don't need one to use its batteries.
Who Freedom Won batteries suit
Good fit
- Technical buyers who want local manufacturing and full documentation. Freedom Won publishes detailed spec sheets, guarantees and installation manuals, and its warranty is issued by a South African manufacturer.
- Existing eTower owners who want more capacity. The eTower 2 is sold as backwards compatible with the earlier eTower, so expansion may not mean replacing what you have.
- Homes that need a lot of storage in one unit. The ENVA 16 puts 12.8kWh of usable energy (at 80%) into one cabinet for inverters up to 10kVA.
- Off-grid or Victron-based systems. Victron is on the certified list, which matters for designs that depend on tight battery-inverter communication.
Think twice if
- The only available spot is hot. Every current home battery is indoor-only with strict temperature limits. A garage that bakes in summer can void the warranty.
- A 10-year warranty is high on your list. The current home range offers five years as standard. Some competing batteries publish longer terms, so compare the full documents, not just the headline.
- Your inverter isn't on the certified list. Uncertified pairings can work, but you take on the integration risk.
- You want one company accountable for the whole system. With a component bought separately, the battery warranty, the inverter warranty and the installer's workmanship guarantee can sit with three different businesses.
How Freedom Won compares on the criteria that matter
Our home battery buyer's guide ranks batteries on criteria, not brand names. Here is how Freedom Won's current range measures up:
| Criterion | What Freedom Won publishes | What to compare |
|---|
| Usable capacity | Given at both 80% and 90% depth of discharge | Use the same depth of discharge for every battery you compare |
| Continuous power | ENVA 5: 50A continuous. eTower 2: 4.7kW per module | Your inverter's continuous load and the surge from motors and pumps |
| Warranty term | 5 years standard on the current home range | Calendar term, cycle or throughput limit, and end-of-warranty capacity |
| Claim logistics | ENVA: owner pays removal, shipping and reinstallation | Who visits the site, and who pays labour |
| Compatibility | Certified list for eTower and LiTE; claim of broad CAN bus support for ENVA | Written confirmation for your exact inverter model |
| Support | South African manufacturer; ENVA supported up to 10 years from purchase if parts are available | Local service centres and response times |
No battery wins on every line. The right choice depends on your inverter, your installation spot and how you expect to use the battery.
Not sure which system you need?
Get a free, no-obligation quote sized to your home, usage and budget. It only takes a minute.
Get your free quote →
Before you buy a Freedom Won battery
Ask the installer or seller for:
- the exact model (ENVA 5, ENVA 16 or eTower 2, and the module count);
- written confirmation that Freedom Won certifies your inverter model;
- the usable capacity your system will actually be set to;
- continuous discharge power against your inverter's continuous load;
- the installation spot, and why it will stay inside the warranty's temperature limits;
- the current guarantee document and who handles a claim;
- portal registration done at commissioning; and
- a paid-in-full invoice showing the battery serial number.
Our guide to comparing solar quotes explains how to check the battery line against the rest of an itemised quote.
Getting a quote through SolarGuide
SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems we refer. Alumo's advertised home packages are built around Eenovance batteries, so a quote through us will normally compare a battery from Alumo's range against your needs. If you want a specific battery brand, say so when you ask for a quote, and the installer will tell you what they can supply and support. If you already own a Freedom Won battery and want to add solar or a new inverter, share the model and serial details so compatibility can be checked first.
Compare an itemised, compatible system for your home →
Frequently asked questions
Is Freedom Won made in South Africa?
Yes. Freedom Won is a South African company with its factory at Longmeadow Business Estate in Modderfontein, Gauteng, and its spec sheets list South Africa as the country of manufacture. It sells through accredited distributors and installers.
Has the Freedom Won LiTE Home been discontinued?
On 20 October 2026, Freedom Won's downloads page listed the LiTE Home range as end-of-life. The current home batteries are the ENVA 5, ENVA 16 and eTower 2. Existing LiTE Home owners are still covered by the LiTE guarantee, so keep your invoice, serial number and portal registration.
What is the Freedom Won battery warranty?
It depends on the range. ENVA batteries carry 5 years or 6,000 cycles, whichever comes first, provided they keep 70% of new capacity. The eTower 2 is 5 years or 4,000 cycles. The older LiTE range carries 10 years or 6,000 cycles under its standard conditions. All of them have temperature, installation and registration conditions, and the ENVA guarantee excludes on-site labour and shipping.
Which inverters work with Freedom Won batteries?
Freedom Won's compatibility guide certifies low-voltage models from brands including Sunsynk, Deye, Victron, GoodWe, Growatt, SMA, Studer, MegaRevo, Imeon, Kodak and Chisage, with model-specific set-up notes. The guide was written before the ENVA range, so get written confirmation for your exact battery and inverter pairing.
Is SolarGuide the installer?
No. SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems. We help you compare options and get a free quote. We have no commercial relationship with Freedom Won. All pricing is indicative and subject to a site assessment and credit approval.
Sources and review note
Checked on 20 October 2026. Company details come from Freedom Won's about page. Product status (current and end-of-life ranges) comes from the Freedom Won downloads page. Specifications are from the ENVA 5 spec sheet, ENVA 16 spec sheet, eTower 2 overview sheet and LiTE Home 10/8 spec sheet. Warranty terms are from the ENVA range guarantee and the LiTE battery guarantee. Inverter compatibility is from Freedom Won's inverter compatibility guide. Alumo's battery brand comes from alumo.co.za. The continuous-power and cycle-count figures are SolarGuide calculations from the published numbers, not product tests. We have not quoted prices, because Freedom Won does not publish retail prices and reseller prices change often. Freedom Won can contact us to correct any factual error.
SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. We help you compare options and arrange a free quote — Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems. Pricing is indicative, sourced from Alumo’s published catalogue, and subject to a site assessment and credit approval.