Dyness is one of the most common lithium battery names on South African quotes, especially for 5kWh wall-mount units and the larger Powerbox. It is a Chinese manufacturer with a South African office in Midrand, and its local website now lists a refreshed range: the DL5.0F for the 5kWh slot, the PowerBox G2 and Powerbox Pro at 10.24kWh, the PowerBrick at 14.336kWh and the smaller DL2.5. If you are searching for the DL5.0C or the original B-series, those are older models, although the DL5.0C datasheet is still on the Dyness South Africa downloads page.
This review sets out what Dyness publishes for each battery, how its warranty really works, which inverters it lists as compatible, and the kind of home each battery suits. Everything here comes from Dyness's own datasheets, warranty terms and compatibility list. We have not tested the batteries, and we have no commercial relationship with Dyness.
Key takeaways
The current Dyness South Africa home range is the DL5.0F (5.12kWh), PowerBox G2 and Powerbox Pro (10.24kWh each), PowerBrick (14.336kWh), PowerBrick Max (16.07kWh) and DL2.5 (2.56kWh). All are 51.2V LiFePO4 except the 25.6V DL2.5.
Dyness publishes usable energy at 90% or 95% depth of discharge, so a "5kWh" Dyness gives you about 4.6kWh to 4.9kWh to work with.
The 10-year warranty documents we read include a minimum throughput figure. At one full cycle a day, that throughput is reached after roughly 8.5 years, so the capacity guarantee can end before the 10 years do.
Run a Dyness battery without communication to the inverter and the published warranty drops to three years.
Dyness's July 2026 compatibility list covers Deye, Solis, Victron, GoodWe, Growatt, Luxpower and many others. Sunsynk is not named on it, so Sunsynk owners need written confirmation.
Get a free solar quote
Share your average electricity bill and we will arrange a free, no-obligation quote sized to your home and budget. Compare rent-to-own, subscription and outright options.
Mon–Fri 8am–5pm · Sat 8am–1pm · Free quote across South Africa
Dyness at a glance
The company behind the batteries is Dyness Digital Energy Technology Co., Ltd, which its warranty documents place in Suzhou, China. In South Africa it trades as Dyness SA (Pty) Ltd from Khayalami Park in Midrand, according to the Dyness South Africa website. The local site carries South African datasheets, warranty registration and an after-sales contact.
Dyness sells through authorised distributors and installers. Its warranty only applies if the battery was bought from Dyness or an authorised seller and installed in the region the warranty covers, which for the African documents is Africa. A grey-import battery bought online may not qualify, so ask the seller to confirm they are authorised.
The current range in numbers
These figures come from the Dyness South Africa datasheets for the DL5.0F (version dated 20 April 2026), PowerBox G2 (28 February 2025), Powerbox Pro (28 February 2025) and PowerBrick (1 July 2025).
DL5.0F
PowerBox G2
Powerbox Pro
PowerBrick
Nominal energy
5.12kWh
10.24kWh
10.24kWh
14.336kWh
Usable energy
4.864kWh (95% DoD)
9.728kWh (95% DoD)
About 9.2kWh (90% DoD)
13.619kWh (95% DoD)
Recommended charge and discharge
50A (2.56kW)
100A (5.12kW)
100A (5.12kW)
140A
Maximum discharge
100A (5.12kW)
200A (10.24kW)
10.24kW peak
200A
Short peak
110A for 15 seconds
300A for 2 minutes
Not stated
300A for 2 minutes
Cycle life on the datasheet
8,000 or more
8,000 or more
6,000 or more
8,000 or more
Protection rating
IP20
IP65
IP65
IP20
Weight
41kg
99.7kg
99.3kg
114kg
Parallel limit
50 units
50 units
50 units
50 modules
DoD means depth of discharge: the share of the battery's total capacity it is allowed to use. The Powerbox Pro sheet gives 90% DoD but no usable figure, so the 9.2kWh above is our arithmetic. The PowerBrick usable figure comes from its warranty document.
Every cycle-life figure on these sheets is measured at 0.2C, meaning a gentle charge and discharge over about five hours, at 25°C. Real homes run faster and warmer than that. Treat the cycle count as a laboratory result and look at the warranty for what Dyness actually promises.
Dyness 5kWh: DL5.0F, DL5.0C and DL5.0C Pro
Most "Dyness 5kWh" searches are about one of three 5.12kWh wall or rack batteries. The DL5.0F is the one on the current South African product page. The other two still appear on the downloads page and on many installer quotes.
DL5.0F
DL5.0C Pro
DL5.0C
Usable energy
4.864kWh (95%)
4.864kWh (95%, from warranty)
About 4.6kWh (90%)
Recommended / maximum discharge
50A / 100A
50A / 100A
50A / 100A
Peak discharge
110A for 15 seconds
120A for 10 minutes
110A for 15 seconds
Cycle life on datasheet
8,000 or more
6,000 or more
6,000 or more
Weight
41kg
46kg
49.9kg
Fire suppression
Built-in aerosol
Aerosol
Not listed
Wi-Fi
Optional
Built in
Optional
Figures come from the DL5.0C Pro and DL5.0C datasheets, both dated July 2025.
The number that matters for day-to-day use is the recommended 50A. At 51.2V nominal, that is 2.56kW, which Dyness prints on the DL5.0F sheet. One of these batteries can briefly support up to 5.12kW, but if your backed-up loads regularly sit above about 2.5kW, a single 5kWh unit is working harder than Dyness recommends. On a 5kW inverter, two units share the load more comfortably. Our guide to what a 5kWh battery can run shows how quickly common appliances use that energy.
The DL5.0F is IP20, so it belongs indoors. Dyness lists it as wall-mounted, floor-standing, bracket-mounted or rack-mounted, with a note that the simple bracket installation supports a maximum of six modules.
Dyness Powerbox: G2 and Pro
The Powerbox name now covers two 10.24kWh batteries. Both are IP65, which is the main reason people choose them: they are designed to cope with dust and water jets, so a sheltered outdoor or garage position is possible where an IP20 battery would not be suitable. An IP rating is not protection from heat, though. The datasheets give a charging range of 0°C to 55°C, and a battery baking in afternoon sun will age faster.
The PowerBox G2 is the newer unit. It has a higher stated cycle life (8,000 against 6,000), 95% usable rather than 90%, built-in Wi-Fi, an aerosol fire extinguisher and an optional heating function that lets it charge below freezing. The Powerbox Pro is the earlier design, still listed on the South African site, with optional Wi-Fi.
Both suit a 5kW inverter on recommended current, and they can supply up to about 10kW for heavier loads. At almost 100kg each, they need a floor or wall that can carry the weight.
PowerBrick and PowerBrick Max
The PowerBrick is a 14.336kWh floor-standing unit with optional wheels, built-in Wi-Fi and an aerosol fire extinguisher. It is IP20, so it is an indoor product. The PowerBrick Max (16.07kWh) appears on the Dyness South Africa site, but we could not find a South African datasheet for it on 20 October 2026, so we have not compared its detailed figures.
A single large cabinet like the PowerBrick suits a home that wants long evening runtime or covers outages on an 8kW to 10kW inverter, with fewer connections than three or four small modules.
The DL2.5 is a 25.6V, 2.56kWh battery for small 24V systems. It carries a shorter five-year warranty, covered below.
The Dyness warranty: read past the headline
Dyness product pages say "10 years" for the PowerBrick and PowerBox G2. The full warranty terms are more specific, and they are worth reading before you buy. The Dyness South Africa downloads page publishes the PowerBrick warranty, the DL5.0C Pro warranty and the DL2.5 warranty. On 20 October 2026 we did not find model-specific warranty documents for the DL5.0F, PowerBox G2 or Powerbox Pro there, so ask your seller for the exact terms that apply to those.
The PowerBrick and DL5.0C Pro documents share the same structure:
Product warranty: 10 years. This covers defects in materials and workmanship, by repair or replacement.
Three years without communication. If the battery runs without a communication link to the inverter, the product warranty is three years from the start date.
Capacity performance warranty. Dyness warrants the battery will keep 70% of its usable energy for 10 years or until it reaches a minimum throughput, whichever comes first.
Start date. The warranty starts on the date of first installation or 180 days after the battery left the Dyness factory, whichever is earlier. A battery that sat in a warehouse for a year may already have lost part of its cover.
PowerBrick
DL5.0C Pro
DL2.5
Product warranty
10 years
10 years
5 years
Without communication
3 years
3 years
3 years
Capacity guarantee
70% of usable energy
70% of usable energy
70% of nominal energy
Minimum throughput
42.253MWh
15.091MWh
3.57MWh
Which limit ends the warranty first?
Divide the throughput by the usable energy and you get the number of full cycles the capacity guarantee covers. For the PowerBrick (42.253MWh ÷ 13.619kWh) and the DL5.0C Pro (15.091MWh ÷ 4.864kWh), it comes to about 3,100 full cycles in both cases. That is well below the 6,000 or 8,000 cycles on the datasheets.
A battery that does one full cycle every day reaches 3,100 cycles in about 8.5 years. This is our arithmetic from Dyness's published figures, not a Dyness statement.
Calendar term in the Dyness warranty10 years
When throughput runs out at one full cycle a day8.5 years
When throughput runs out at two full cycles a day4.3 years
PowerBrick and DL5.0C Pro capacity guarantee, SolarGuide calculation from Dyness warranty figures
For a home that mostly keeps the battery full as backup, the throughput will never be the limit. For a home that runs the battery hard every evening and morning, it might be. Our guide to lithium battery lifespan and cycles explains how cycle, throughput and calendar limits interact.
Other conditions worth knowing
Report problems quickly. The terms ask you to notify Dyness within 48 hours of discovering a defect, and they exclude failures not reported within two weeks.
Payment. A seller can refuse a warranty request where the buyer has not paid in full. Keep a paid-in-full invoice that shows the serial number.
Moving the battery. Removing it and reinstalling it at another address without Dyness's written confirmation is excluded.
Compatible inverter. Using an incompatible inverter voids the cover.
Registration. Dyness encourages registration on its app or web portal and says on its warranty page that registration helps you get a longer warranty period.
Disputes. If Dyness and the buyer disagree, the battery can be tested, with the buyer paying the testing fee first and being refunded if the battery turns out to qualify.
The DL2.5 terms add that its warranty covers the equivalent of one full cycle a day, and the three-year limit also applies to use in caravans, camping and marine set-ups.
Inverter compatibility
All the 51.2V Dyness batteries talk to the inverter over CAN or RS485. Dyness's low-voltage compatibility list (last updated 15 July 2026) names specific inverter models from 48 brands, including Deye, Solis, Victron (MultiPlus and Quattro 48V), GoodWe, Growatt, Luxpower, SMA Sunny Island, Schneider Conext, Studer, Sol-Ark, SolaX, Mecer Axpert King and Voltronic Axpert models. On the list, every model is ticked for the DL5.0C, DL5.0C Pro, DL5.0F, PowerBox G2, PowerBrick and PowerBrick Max. The Powerbox Pro does not have its own column, although its datasheet names SMA, Schneider, Victron, Ingeteam, Solis, GoodWe, Growatt, Solplanet, Luxpower and Deye.
Two practical points:
Sunsynk is not on the list. Sunsynk is one of the most common hybrid inverters in South African homes. Its absence does not prove a Dyness battery will not work with one, but the Dyness warranty excludes use with an incompatible inverter. If you have a Sunsynk, get written confirmation from Dyness SA or the inverter supplier for your exact battery and inverter models before you buy.
Match the model, not just the brand. The list is model-specific. A Deye or Growatt inverter that isn't listed by model needs the same written confirmation.
Communication matters for the warranty as well as for performance. Without it, the inverter cannot see the battery's true state of charge, and the published warranty drops to three years.
Who Dyness batteries suit
Good fit
Homes with a listed inverter. If your inverter model is on the July 2026 list, compatibility is documented by the manufacturer.
Buyers who want clear usable-capacity figures. Dyness publishes usable energy, recommended current and peak current, which makes like-for-like comparison easier.
Homes that need a sheltered outdoor or garage spot. The IP65 PowerBox G2 and Powerbox Pro are designed for harsher positions than the IP20 models.
Systems that may grow. Most models allow up to 50 units in parallel, and Dyness says its battery balancing supports mixing modules at different states of charge.
Think twice if
You own a Sunsynk inverter and cannot get written confirmation for the pairing.
You plan heavy daily cycling and value the full 10 years. The throughput cap can end the capacity guarantee earlier.
Your seller cannot show they are authorised. The warranty depends on buying from Dyness or an authorised seller in the covered region.
You want a locally made product. Dyness batteries are made by a Chinese manufacturer. If local manufacturing matters to you, compare our Freedom Won battery review.
How Dyness compares on the criteria that matter
Our home battery buyer's guide ranks batteries on criteria, not brand names. Here is how the current Dyness range measures up:
Criterion
What Dyness publishes
What to compare
Usable capacity
Given at 90% or 95% DoD on each datasheet
Use the same DoD basis for every battery you compare
the exact model (DL5.0F, DL5.0C Pro, PowerBox G2, Powerbox Pro or PowerBrick) and how many units;
proof that the seller is an authorised Dyness seller;
the warranty document for that exact model, including its minimum throughput figure;
written confirmation that your inverter model is compatible, with the communication cable and settings;
the usable capacity your system will be set to, and the recommended discharge current against your inverter's continuous load;
the manufacture or shipping date, because the warranty can start 180 days after shipment;
registration on the Dyness app or portal at commissioning; and
a paid-in-full invoice showing the battery serial numbers.
Our guide to comparing solar quotes shows how to check the battery line against the rest of an itemised quote.
Getting a quote through SolarGuide
SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems we refer. Alumo's advertised home packages are built around Eenovance batteries, and Alumo does not install Dyness, so a quote through us will compare a battery from Alumo's range against your needs. If you already own a Dyness battery and want to add solar or replace an inverter, share the model and serial details when you ask for a quote so compatibility can be checked first.
Dyness publishes detailed datasheets, usable-capacity figures and a model-by-model inverter list, which makes its batteries easier to assess than many. Whether one suits you depends on your inverter being listed, the installation spot and how hard you will cycle it. Read the warranty's throughput figure alongside the 10-year headline.
What is the Dyness battery warranty?
On the documents published by Dyness South Africa, the PowerBrick and DL5.0C Pro carry a 10-year product warranty and a capacity guarantee of 70% of usable energy for 10 years or a minimum throughput, whichever comes first. The DL2.5 carries five years. Any model run without communication to the inverter is covered for three years.
How much usable energy does a Dyness 5kWh battery have?
The DL5.0F and DL5.0C Pro give 4.864kWh usable at 95% depth of discharge. The older DL5.0C is rated at 90%, which works out to about 4.6kWh. Dyness recommends 50A, or about 2.56kW, as the normal charge and discharge rate for these batteries.
Does Dyness work with Sunsynk inverters?
Sunsynk is not named on Dyness's low-voltage compatibility list dated 15 July 2026. Some installers do pair the two, but the Dyness warranty excludes incompatible inverters. Get written confirmation from Dyness SA or the inverter supplier for your exact models before you buy.
Is SolarGuide the installer?
No. SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems. We help you compare options and get a free quote. Alumo does not install Dyness batteries, and we have no commercial relationship with Dyness. All pricing is indicative and subject to a site assessment and credit approval.
Sources and review note
Checked on 20 October 2026. The product line-up and South African office details come from the Dyness South Africa website and its downloads page. Specifications are from the Dyness datasheets for the DL5.0F, DL5.0C, DL5.0C Pro, PowerBox G2, Powerbox Pro and PowerBrick. Warranty terms are from the Dyness PowerBrick, DL5.0C Pro and DL2.5 warranty documents and the Dyness warranty registration page. Inverter compatibility is from the Dyness low-voltage compatibility list dated 15 July 2026. Alumo's battery brand comes from alumo.co.za. The usable-energy figure for the Powerbox Pro and DL5.0C, the kW conversions, and the cycle and year figures for the throughput limit are SolarGuide calculations from the published numbers, not product tests. We have not quoted prices, because Dyness does not publish South African retail prices and reseller prices change often. Dyness can contact us to correct any factual error.
SolarGuide is an independent referral partner. We help you compare options and arrange a free quote — Alumo supplies, installs, finances and warrants the systems. Pricing is indicative, sourced from Alumo’s published catalogue, and subject to a site assessment and credit approval.